We all have different ways of showing and receiving love. Some people love acts of affection and lots of PDA. Other people like their relationship to be more private and appreciate words rather than actions. These are called love languages. There are five different love languages: Words of Affirmation, Acts of Service, Receiving Gifts, Quality Time, and Physical Touch. They all represent different things and describe how people express love. Some people are a combination of a few, while others are only one. Understanding your own love languages is vital as it can help you better understand your partner and improve your relationship. This is what the five love languages mean:

Words of Affirmation
If you appreciate something your partner says to you more than what they do for you, your love language is Words of Affirmation. Words of Affirmation is, simply put, verbal compliments. It’s a more direct way of knowing that your partner loves and appreciates you. Some examples of Words of Affirmation are: “Thank you for always being there” or “I love the way you look.”

Acts of Service
Unlike telling your partner how much you love them, Acts of Service is doing things you know your partner will appreciate. That can mean cooking them dinner after you know they’ve had a busy day, making them a gift rather than buying it or cleaning their room for them. This love language is action-based, rather than verbal.

Receiving Gifts
If your partner coming home with a surprise bouquet of flowers means the world to you, your love language is Receiving Gifts. Knowing that someone is thinking about you so much, they went out of their way to buy something for you shows a lot about their feelings. This is different from acts of service, as you actually receive a tangible gift.

Quality Time
Sometimes, we need to know if our partner really loves us by spending time with them. Quality Time means your partner is paying complete attention to you and isn’t distracted by outside forces. Spending time together is vital in every relationship. Still, if you really value this alone time, your love language is probably Quality Time.

Physical Touch
Physical touch doesn’t have to mean tons of PDA-simply holding hands can do the trick. To feel secure and loved in your relationship, sometimes you just need your partner’s physical touch. For someone with this love language, it doesn’t matter how much your partner tells you they love you, they need to show you with physical touch.