Because before they didn’t. Wait. What?Starting Tuesday, August 5, 2014 (that’s today!), when you see packaged food flaunting the label “gluten-free,” it will actually mean that the item is free of gluten. The FDA is now enforcing the rule it announced a year ago, saying that the gluten-free claim can only be used on foods containing less than 20 parts per million of gluten.The scary fact for those with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity: Before today, there were no national standards governing the use of the gluten-free claim on foods. According to the FDA, “as of August 5, 2014, all manufacturers of FDA-regulated packaged food making a gluten-free claim must comply with the guidelines outlined by the FDA.” The FDA rule covers packaged foods and dietary supplements. It excludes foods that are regulated by the US Department of Agriculture (USDA), such as meats, poultry and some egg products (though the FDA regulates the labeling of shell eggs).It also excludes alcohol. Since some beers—which are traditionally made from gluten-heavy barley—have begun to use the gluten-free claim, you should investigate those further before imbibing.The FDA has asked that restaurants adhere to the August 2014 deadline, and the rule also applies to foods imported from other countries.For more information, check out this Gluten-Free Food Labeling Q&A from the FDA.MORE: Will Going Gluten-Free Improve Your Skin?